Results of the ACAMH Awards 2020

Marketing Manager for ACAMH

Posted on

The ACAMH Awards aim to recognise high quality work in evidence based science, both in publication and practice, in the field of child and adolescent mental health. Listed below are the winners and nominees, with short film clip about the winner.

President’s Medal

Professor Dame Uta Frith. Watch Uta’s Keynote lecture.

Kathy Sylva ‘Rising Star’ Award

Winner; Stephen P. Becker, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

Nominees; Laura Baams of University of Groningen, Helen Dodd of University of Reading, Jed Elison of Institute of Child Development, University of Minnesota, Katie Finning of University of Exeter, Rebecca Lacey of University College London, Maria Loades of University of Bath, Tom McAdams of Social, Genetic & Developmental Psychiatry Centre, King’s College London, Becky Mars of University of Bristol, Daniel Michelson of University of Sussex, Aja Murray of University of Edinburgh, Joanne Newbury of University of Bristol, Eesha Sharma of National Institute of Mental Health and Neurosciences, Mark Taylor of Karolinska Institute, Jasmin Wertz of Duke University

Special Award for Developing and Improving Practice

Winner; Kathryn Pugh

Digital Innovation Award

Joint winners; Chris Hollis of University of Nottingham, Eva Serlachius of Karolinska Institute

Nominees; Eleni Mangina of University College Dublin, Helen Minnis of University of Glasgow, Michelle Mulcahy of HSE CAMHS, Asha Patel of Innovating Minds CIC

Lionel Hersov Memorial Award

Winner; Empowering Parents Empowering Communities Child and Adolescent Mental Health Service, South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust

Highly Commended; Positive Families Functional Family Therapy Team, Family Psychology Mutual CIC

Nominees; Myooran Canagaratnam of Tavistock & Portman NHS Foundation Trust, Andrea Chatten of Unravel CEBPC Ltd, Pathway for Eating disorders and Autism developed from Clinical Experience (PEACE) Research Team, Debbie Plant and Karen McIlwain of South London and Maudsley NHS Trust, Kate Tchanturia of King’s College London

Eric Taylor ‘Translational Research into Practice’ Award

Winner; Mark Dadds of University of Sydney

Highly Commended; Ian Goodyer & The IMPACT Team of University of Cambridge, James Leckman of Yale University

Nominees; Connie Kasari of University of California, Rachel Morrall of Worcestershire Health and Care NHS Trust, MILESTONE Project Team of University of Warwick, Pathway for Eating disorders and Autism developed from Clinical Experience (PEACE) Research Team, Kate Tchanturia of King’s College London

David Cottrell ‘Education of CAMH Professionals’ Award

Winner; Carlos Hoyos, Solent NHS Trust

Highly commended; Mark Griffiths of Nottingham Trent University, Ayesha Irshad Mian of Aga Khan University, Shirley Reynolds of University of Reading

Nominees; Ciara Baxter of The Chelsea Group of Children, Nigel Camilleri of Mental Health Services, Malta, Nathalie Delahaye of Roar Pursuits, Dasha Nicholls of Imperial College London, Georgia Pavlopolou, University College London and The Anna Freud Centre, Sharon Tame of St Mary’s Catholic Primary School, Janine Thomas of Action For Children.


Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry Journal Best Paper

‘What distinguishes adolescents with suicidal thoughts from those who have attempted suicide? A population‐based birth cohort study’ by Becky Mars, Jon Heron, E. David Klonsky, Paul Moran, Rory C. O’Connor, Kate Tilling, Paul Wilkinson, and David Gunnell. Read the paper.


Child and Adolescent Mental Health Journal Best Paper

‘Review: The association between anxiety and poor attendance at school – a systematic review’ by Katie Finning, Obioha C. Ukoumunne, Tamsin Ford, Emilia Danielson‐Waters, Liz Shaw, Ingrid Romero De Jager, Lauren Stentiford, and Darren A. Moore. Read the paper.

Trainee of the Year Award

Winner Trainee of the Year – Clinical; Aisha Sanober Chachar of Aga Khan University

Winner Trainee of the Year – Research; Zoe Smith, Virginia Commonwealth University

Nominees: Yasmin Ahmadzadeh of King’s College London, Rebecca Appleton of University of Warwick, Anna Chaplin of University of Cambridge, Olga Eyre of Cwm Taf University Health Board and Cardiff University, Katie Finning of University of Exeter, Blandine French of University of Nottingham, Sundar Gnanavel, Northumbria NHS Foundation Trust, Georgia Harvey of King’s College London, Somia Imran of University of Edinburgh, Pete Lawrence of University of Southampton, Stephanie Lewis of King’s College London, Shaun Liverpool of University College London and Anna Freud National Centre for Children and Families, Nicole Racine of University of Calgary, and Emma Soneson of University of Cambridge.

ACAMH Branch Award

Congratulations go to Laura Hanks, of the Welsh ACAMH Branch, and Asha Gowda, of the Southern ACAMH Branch.

Add a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *